The One With The Civil War

SOOOOOO! I think it’s safe to say you know what’s coming today… Yes, you’re right! This week it’s all about Captain America: Civil War! I have so much to tell you about, but first I promise I’ll try not to spoil anyone and if I do it, forgive me because I didn’t mean too.

L2GI2c8
I’m so excited to talk about this that I had to take two days to write this post. Like, I needed to chanel my inner fangirl but also tame the beast that is the “Stucky” shipper. So let’s start with the beggining… The movie premiered on the 28th here in Portugal and I wanted to go to the movie theater to watch it because I have been expecting this for a long time. But I live in a small city that has no cinema’s. After many tries to convince my parents to drive me to the next city which had a shopping center, I decided to take matters into my own hands.

So thursday I just thought to myself “F**k it!” and just bought a bus ticket to go to the next city alone. I spent 25 minutes in a bus and then took a cab to the shopping. I was so excited and happy to watch the movie, you can’t even imagine it. (Just a little detail that it’ll make sense in a while, the first thing I did when I arrived at the shopping center was buy a bag of M&Ms to smuggle into the cinema!) I bought the ticket for the next session and had 30 minutes to spare before the movie started.

When I finally entered the room where the movie was being shown there were about 20 people there and I had to sit next to two girls that probably thought I was crazy after my little screams of “NO!” or my hand against my heart everytime things got emotional! The trailers started and after a while the lights went out and the movie started. I was hipnotized the whole time…

So much happened! Like you’re constatly pulled in a flashback scene with Bucky that only made completely sense at the end of the movie. Then you had all these superheroes! People trying to make good for others and using their powers and abilities to fight against the bad guys. After that you had the Hobbit and one more guy making some political oppressions against them. Then they divided themselves because of that and basically Bucky. That anticlimatic kiss that didn’t make any sense in the story, please! And then the real action begins with some intense fight scenes…

tumblr_nyczh8GIKN1r3e92ro2_500

On one side you have #TeamCaptain composed by Hawkeye, Falcon, Bucky Barnes, Ant-Man and Scarlet Witch. And on the other side you have #TeamIronMan made of War Machine, Black Widow, Black Panther, The Vision and Spider-Man. Let me tell you that it’s very hard to chose a side! More even after watching the movie… Because at the end you truly understand both sides and you see what they believed and wanted do was the right thing. But in my heart I was #TeamCap because I had my doubts about the political stuff and Bucky was being accused of something he didn’t do, he was being a pawn.

(ATTENTION: probably there are some spoilers here!).

So in the end and in my heart both sides won… Like both sides did the right thing and although they had some casualities physically and psychologically, they didn’t want to hurt each other. Like you can see them fighting against each other and they are controlling themselves… They don’t want to hurt their friends! (You can definitely see that between the Black Widow and Hawkeye.) They just want to stop each other from doing something wrong.

And the new characters presented to the Avengers inniciative are brilliant and fit so well… Black Panther with his desire for revenge that in the end understood that he was wrong, Spider-Man a kid with so much fight in him and with his Star Wars references (also remember my bag of M&Ms?! Yeah, they dropped on the floor between Tony’s and Peter’s conversation while the whole room was in silence!) and Ant-Man with his funny dialogue and his crazy ideas. These characters just fit! And the others just stay the same… For example, the inner struggles of fitting in a different time by Steve, the desire to do everything right by Tony, Natasha double spy work, The Vision uncertainty in humanity, Wanda coming to terms with her powers, Hawkeye being the voice of reason and Sam and Rhodes being loyal to their friends.

The only thing that was missing in the movie was a more deep connection with Bucky! This is a character that with his strenght always stole the scene and made himself present… So I feel like they should have deepened his connection with Steve! Yes, they are best friends and they make the best team together, but what about the struggles that they both went through? Bucky wasn’t being The Winter Soldier anymore, so why not make the audience understand how he was feeling? Some things to think about Marvel!

Overall the movie is fantastic and everybody that loves the Marvel universe just needs to get up of their couch and watch it! Great fight scenes, big friendships, abilities, some drama and visual effects, and it’s the perfect recipe for a great superhero movie… This just makes you so much excited for what is going to happen next on the other characters movies! It’s a great preparation for a second Ant-Man, the new Spider-Man, a future movie about Black Widow and Black Panther (separately please!), etc.

Finally I have something to confess, I want to see the movie again and again 🙂

(P.S. DON’T LEAVE THE THEATER UNTIL THE MOVIE REALLY ENDS! TWO EXTRA SCENES TO WATCH!)

Author: mycrazylittlethoughtsblog

Rita, 24 years old and from Portugal! I have a master degree in Communications with an especialization in Public Relations and Advertising. I also have a lot of different interests!

Leave a Reply

