“A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…”

transferir

Well you got it right… The theme for this week is STAR WARS! I love watching movies and I like futuristic movies with a bit of action. And Star Wars is a classic! I never watched the whole movies and I was curious. I even watched them in the correct order… I thought to myself “If I’m doing this, I’m doing it right!”.

And I did it! Saturday I saw “The Force Awakens”, the VII episode that was released last year. WOW! I really loved the whole franchise. When I was younger, I saw pieces and bits of the first movies and always wanted to watch them all. I like to have a constructive opinion about things and in my head the only way I could watch the last movie or even have an opinion was to see the movies! I did the right choice, indeed…

There is so much to tell about this saga. First it’s created by George Lucas that gave us this fictional galaxy full of alien creatures and robotic droids, where space travel is super common and a corrupt galatic government is trying to rule the galaxy. In the prequel trilogy (Episodes I, II and III) this government is the Galactic Republic. At the end of this prequel and throughout the original trilogy (Episodes IV, V and VI) this government is the Galactic Empire. And in this new trilogy (where Episode VII begins) there is the New Republic.

As any true Star Wars fan knows there is something called “the Force” that is descrived as “an energy field created by all living things [that] surrounds us, penetrates us, [and] binds the galaxy together.” With the power of the Force users can perform various supernatural feats (like telekinesis, clairvoyance, precognition and mind control) and can also amplify certain physical traits such as speed and reflexes. As always the Force can be used for good (the light side), but it also has a dark side that, when pursued, fills their users with hatred, aggression and malevolence. The Jeidi, who are part of the light side, use this power to serve as peacekeepers and guardians of the galaxy. The Sith are the opposite… They embrace the dark side and try to destroy the Jedi Order and the Republic and try to rule the galaxy themselves.

As you can see there is everything in this saga! There is action, romance, friendship, intercultural interactions, but mostly crazy creatures and spaceships. I fell in love with it! It’s so interesting and the political problems and revolutions just keep the story so fascinating. There is an evil man Darth Vader that works for the Emperor, there is Yoda that tries to protect the Jedi Order… There are children that have so much power without realising it and are determinant to the storyline! There is rebels and Stormtroppers! Too much cuteness with robots and Chewbacca… I just want to hug them! And I want a lightsaber, please!

Not to talk about some of the amazing actors that participated in the three trilogies made to this day! I know I’m gonna be crazy and bitting my nails waiting for a new trailer for the next movie or even watching it. I know I can’t wait for it! I’m so excited to know more about their story and the relations between these new characters…

So as a suggestion, I think you should just try to watch the whole saga! Try with the 1st episode and if you don’t like it then well tough luck… But just try it out! It’s really worth watching and the 2 hours per movie pass in a blur. Watch it and:

Star-wars-May-the-force-be-with-you-GIF

(Just a side note for those who haven’t experience Star Wars fully, keep an eye on the Skywalkers! Without spoiling much they are in the center of everything that happens on the movies. Well you may know one of them, Luke Skywalker because everybody knows the famous phrase “Luke, I’m your father!”)

Author: mycrazylittlethoughtsblog

Rita, 24 years old and from Portugal! I have a master degree in Communications with an especialization in Public Relations and Advertising. I also have a lot of different interests!

Leave a Reply

