Fanfiction

Today I thought long and hard about what to write about and I kept coming back to a fanfiction I’m reading… So I just thought that would be cool to share with you my opinion on fanfiction! Well I spend a lot of time reading it so I think I can do this…

For those of you who live under a rock fanfiction is fiction about characters or settings from an original work of fiction like movies, books, games, tv shows, music, anime, etc. These fics are created by fans of that work and it’s a popular form of fan labor since the upgrowth of internet. This form of work is rarely commissioned or authorized by the original work’s creater or publisher, and is rarely professionally published. (Although there are some exceptions… For example 50 Shades of Grey was a fanfiction inspired on Twilight.) When a work of fanfiction is published, the author’s are legally asked to change the names of the characters due to copyright infringement.

Also fanfiction is normally defined as being both related to its subject’s canonical fictional universe and simultaneously existing outside it. The most popular websites to read fics are FanFiction.net and Archive of Our Own and there you can find fics to every person… You have big ones or small ones, chaptered, with explicit content or just fluff, with any kind of sexuality or pairings, etc.

Now that I explained a little bit what fanfiction is, I just have to say that usually the people that look for these type of work are fans that try to fulfill a desire to see different sides of their favorite characters but also to satisfy a need of closer. For example, in my case I began to read fics just because I didn’t like the end of a tv show I watched. There was something missing that made me look for fanfiction where I could close that chapter. Also there are a lot of people that resort to this type of reading because they ship a pair that isn’t canon.

For writers working on these fics is an opportunity to put out there their opinion or how they envisioned a story to end. It’s their chance to express themselves! For readers it’s an even bigger opportunity to read some amazing work… Some of these fics can even be better than some books out there! I know I’ve read my share of brilliant fics that not only made me smile, but also cry and learn about incredible issues. Like politics, sexuality, the music industry, mental illness and others. It’s just a good way to not only read your favorite characters/people fall in love or live their lifes but also to learn about all these important stuff because writers do some intense investigation on these issues.

For me I just like the experience of reading a good story… It doesn’t matter to me if it’s canon or headcanon… If it’s an alternative universe or just real life. I like the chance to read the evolution of my favorite character/people and just get involved with them! I’m proud to say that I’ve read bigger stories than Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and in less time. Now I read mostly fics pairing two musicians (H&L always!) and it has been like that for two years… Sometimes I read fics from other fandoms, but I always keep coming back to one particular fandom because it’s something real and tangible.

Also it’s so important to show support to the thousands of writers out there that spend their free time writing stories and giving life to our beloved characters. Keep up the good work and don’t feel ashamed to show your work to others… Worst case scenario they don’t like it, but the important thing is that you write for yourself.

So now after all is said and done I’m gonna go back to my fics… Feel free to visit these two websites I recommended if you want to explore this side of fan work. I promise you that no matter the fandom or the pairing you’ll find some fic to read and to get addicted to. Be prepared to explore all of your emotions 😉

tumblr_muk5kcQJpB1qkxowqo4_250

Author: mycrazylittlethoughtsblog

Rita, 24 years old and from Portugal! I have a master degree in Communications with an especialization in Public Relations and Advertising. I also have a lot of different interests!

Leave a Reply

