It’s a “Simple Plan”

1247710

Do you know the song that we all have that helped us through our teenage years? Well, for me it was a song called Welcome to my Life by a french-canadian band, Simple Plan… I remember being mad at everything and going to my room, turning off the lights, turning on my walkman and just listening to this song on repeat for the rest of the night. This was my song and I identified with it for so long… When they sang “No, you don’t know what it’s like, Welcome to my life”, it would always give me chills. Even today this will happen if I listen to the song!

After my teenage dramas, I learnt to appreciate more and more Simple Plan’s songs. I always felt connected to them, though. They always seemed to be singing about some specific point in my life and pouring down my thoughts through music! So as you can see I’m a big fan of their music and their punk rock vibes. They are part of a generation of bands that I really love like: Blink 182, Sum 41, Fall Out Boy, etc.

So it’s really no surprise that I’m making this post because this awesome band just recently released a new album, Taking One for the Team! A friend of mine the other day, which is also a big fan, made me remember of this little (big) fact and told me the album is truly good… I was so curious that in the last few days I’ve been listening to it!

And the truth is that the album is really good! It brings me back to a time in my life when things were psychologically hard for me, but at the same time it brings me such good memories. I’m very happy with this album and I think they are too! It’s always the same sound, that you can recognize it from far away! All Music even described this album as “pure, no-frills, feel-good fun, a start-to-finish crowd-pleaser for fans of that classic pop-punk sound.” And what really is impressive to me is the fact that a band with almost 15 years has the same sound and energy! They are coming to Europe for their World Tour but sadly I won’t come to listen to them… They aren’t coming to Portugal.

That being said if you have some doubts about listening to the whole album (Please! The album is awesome, you should hear it until the end!) just check out the two singles already released, Boom and Opinion Overload. But now for real, if you like the genre and haven’t heard their last album yet or you haven’t heard any of their songs (are you living under a rock?!) check them out! Because they are really a “Simple Plan” 🙂

 

Author: mycrazylittlethoughtsblog

Rita, 24 years old and from Portugal! I have a master degree in Communications with an especialization in Public Relations and Advertising. I also have a lot of different interests!

Leave a Reply

