Carnival?!

Oh it’s Carnival again… A time of the year that people can do whatever they want because no one takes it to heart. At least there is a saying like that here in Portugal! People dress up, parade around town, party hard, drink, dance, etc. It generates a lot of money to our economy and people have fun with it! At least some of them…

As you might be thinking right now, I’m not a big fan of these festivities… Since I was a kid, really! My parents would dress me up and took pictures of me. I was Yasmin, a chef, Minnie, a flower, a clown (which I hated with all my heart! I hate clowns!), the sea, a recycling bin, a japonese girl, Red Riding Hood, etc. Don’t get me wrong I liked the costumes! But I never liked all the other things involved. I used to dress up to participate on a parade on my town and I didn’t like all the attention! People I didn’t know talking to me or ordering me around… Nope, these holidays aren’t for me.

Algarve2013-1220

Contrary to me, there are people that like it! Portuguese people don’t usually celebrate Halloween and don’t dress up to go trick or treat… So in this time of the year there are a lot of towns and cities that are really popular for their festivities, like Loulé, Torres Vedras, Mealhada and Madeira. There are schools and other associations that create all these routines and cars to parade around town! The themes go from wild life to politic and football satire. Some of the costumes are really cool! And the artistic work is just brilliant as they spend many months working on it. For example, here in Portugal we adopted some of the Brazilian Carnival with samba and brazilian music playing a huge part in our festivities.  There is also discos that organize parties for teenagers or young adults. They all dress up to party and sometimes there are also contests to know which person has the best costume!

But we can’t forget that Carnival is really celebrated all over the world… The more famous ones are in Brazil and in Venice. Brazil is most commonly know for the samba and their intricate costumes! Women and men dance and play in Sambódromo with thousands of people from different nationalities watching. The Venice Carnival is mostly known for their beautiful masks that give the festivity a more classical look and also brings a lot of tourists to the city.

Also there is the whole religious meaning. For those who don’t know this holiday is a Christian festive season that occurs before lent. For example, on wednesday the last day of these holidays christians bury the so called “Entrudo” (Shrovetide) and don’t usually eat meat to represent the entry into lent.

So for those of you out there that enjoy this time of the year and like to party, I hope you have some fun and enjoy these last two days 😉

Author: mycrazylittlethoughtsblog

Rita, 24 years old and from Portugal! I have a master degree in Communications with an especialization in Public Relations and Advertising. I also have a lot of different interests!

Leave a Reply

