“A whole new world” by Disney

tumblr_static_idk_what

Since I made this blog I tried to write about things that I find interesting or things that I grow up with… Today I was thinking about my childhood and what I used to do when I was a kid and wanted to pass the time. Well that answer is really simple… I used to turn on my VHS player and just watch some movie. Sometimes it was a Disney animation movie and other times just Looney Tunes. But I always had a soft spot for the Disney ones (my Hercules VHS was never the same, I watched it almost everyday).

Even today I watch them! Everytime that I catch one on TV I stay tuned to it like I am a child seeing the movie for the first time. The stories and the characters always fascinated me! But the soundtracks always made me more into the whole thing! Today I can definitely say that I’m a proud Disney fan that knows the lyrics to almost every song from my favorite movies… When Youtube was created it was the best thing for me because it gave me the possibility to go there and listen to my favorite songs! I know some quotes too, by the way!

I always got fascinated with the endless possibilities! You could be a princess, a prince, a king, a queen, a lion, a thief, a villain, a dog, a frog, a god, etc. No matter what you could be anything you wanted to be! You just had to believe in it and dream…

Not many kids loved villains, but I loved them and the bad things they did always fascinated me because I wanted to know why they acted like that! But what really made me sad was that not everybody got their happy ending… I know that villains needed to pay for their mistakes, but I always felt sad that they were never happy.

Also I loved that every character was different, you know? For example, in terms of female figures Disney started with a plot that gave us an innocent girl like Snow White, Cinderela, Aurora and Ariel that needed a strong male character to help them or to saved them. But they transformed their characters through the years to show us more powerful female figures. We have Belle, Pocahontas, Mulan, Megara, Tiana, Merida and Elsa that are independent woman that although they have help, also have a strong personality that can make them resolve their own issues! They also represented different nacionalities or races that made more girls around the world feel accepted in their own skin. Disney next step is to make an animation with a plot centered in an lgbtq+ character to try and educate kids on this theme.

the-problem-with-the-disney-princess-lineup-658781

These characters changed my world when I was kid and even now they make me stop and think about life adversities. These stories make me miss a part of my life when everything was innocent and simple. But they also give me hope… They make me think that although life has its ups and downs, “If you keep on believing, the dream that you wish will come true”!

 

Author: mycrazylittlethoughtsblog

Rita, 24 years old and from Portugal! I have a master degree in Communications with an especialization in Public Relations and Advertising. I also have a lot of different interests!

Leave a Reply

